Updates from April, 2009 Toggle Comment Threads | Keyboard Shortcuts

  • heath 5:59 pm on Friday, April 3, 2009 Permalink | Reply
    Tags: daughter, dupatta?, hand-woven wool, , , magic, shawl, thanks   

    My daughter, my daughter… Dear Tina, t… 

    My daughter, my daughter… Dear Tina, thank you for the lovely woollen dupatta, or maybe that’s not what it is… a hand-woven, most amazing, shawl kind of thing, from India, of a wool that’s very fine and soft, with a design of a black ground and woven-in patterns of two reds and a blueish green — one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever owned. It shields me from all harm when I wear it. It’s magical. Thank you, and love.

     
    • Tina Contis-Quinn 1:42 am on Saturday, April 4, 2009 Permalink | Reply

      Awwwwwwwwww mom, thank you so much for this beautiful posting about something that just screamed your name Heather Heather Heather out to me when I saw it. I am so very glad that you love it and are enjoying it…it was meant for that. You have just put the biggest smile on my face that I’ve had in a while and for that I thank you again. I miss our guy…and our two lil furry one’s big time.

      love you.

      your daughter,

      T.

    • ed 2:54 am on Saturday, April 4, 2009 Permalink | Reply

      The space between words, the dupatta, too.

      Hugs,
      ed

      • heath 7:11 am on Saturday, April 4, 2009 Permalink | Reply

        Thank you, Ed, for a sensitive reading.

  • heath 5:50 pm on Friday, April 3, 2009 Permalink | Reply
    Tags: a rainy day in April, almonds, appetite, bare feet, beach, chadar, coffee, daffodils, films, forsythia, , , red pear, sleep, , Talisker, tired, toast,   

    Spring appetite: I want some toasted alm… 

    Spring appetite: I want some toasted almonds (a must in April!), a red pear, and some toast, and to walk on the beach in bare feet, even if it’s clammy and cold outside, and a hug from a particular someone (yup, you), and a warm woolly blanket to be wrapped up in when I come back from the beach, and then… a mug of black coffee to drink with a shot of Talisker as soon as I’m wrapped up in that blanket, a good film or some new Desi music playing, and at least ten hours to sleep off my present half-deadness. And the next day, total silence, as I wrestle with the pain of a newly-hatched heart, that had no idea of the shell it had been hidden in all these years. Daffodils and forsythia bloomed all yellow this morning in NYC. The air smells green, though the sky is gray, wet and windy.

     
  • heath 5:25 pm on Friday, April 3, 2009 Permalink | Reply
    Tags: Bollywood film producers may strike, cricket   

    Bollywood producers may strike? Say it … 

    Bollywood producers may strike? Say it ain’t so! Not enough BW films reach the US to start with…

    http://www.desihits.com/blog/article/bollywood-producers-go-on-strike-20090403

    There’s an upside to every down: if the strike happens, some multiplexes will be showing cricket instead of films.

     
c
Compose new post
j
Next post/Next comment
k
Previous post/Previous comment
r
Reply
e
Edit
o
Show/Hide comments
t
Go to top
l
Go to login
h
Show/Hide help
shift + esc
Cancel